Brown Sugar Marinated Tuna Steaks

I love fish. Whether its salmon, or tuna, flounder or sturgeon I love everything fish, and fortunately for me my husband does too.  My father in law is a master fisherman so my husband grew up eating gorgeous fresh fish. To make my husbands love for fish even more complete my mother in law, a wonderful woman, really knows how to cook up some great southern style fish.  I unlike my father in law, husband, and nephew am not a great fisher person, and I certainly did not grow up cooking it like my wonderful mother in law. So instead of compete with her on a southern style dish I decided to take a different rout.

Today we are making Brown Sugar Marinated Tuna Steaks.

Yum

Every now and then Sams club or BJ’s will sales on various fish, normally we get whiting but this time the tuna was on sale so that’s what I had to work with . And this marinade is super simple and super delicious.

The original marinade can be found at  http://www.wikihow.com/Cook-Tuna-Steak It calls for Olive oil brown sugar soy sauce and brown sugar. I don’t have most of that so were going to make some alterations.

Blog food 042

All we did was take a gallon Ziploc bag and place in it

1/4th cup water

1/4 tbsp sea salt

2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 large tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp garlic powder

Then we give it a shake and let it sit in the refrigerator for 4 hours, give or take 30 min.

Blog food 043

 

 

 

When we pull it out we place it on a skillet flipping only once  when the color has changed half way up the fish.

Blog food 046

Just let it cook all the way through on the other side and there you have it.

It is the most amazing seared tuna steak I have ever had, you should try it. Do the original recipe or my version or even your own. I am sure with your talent it can’t go wrong. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

So this is the original recipe with my alterations in black.

  • 2 Tbsp (30 ml) olive oil  (2 tbsp vegetable oil)
  • 2 Tbsp (30 ml) soy sauce (1/4th tbsp salt)
  • 1 Tbsp (15 ml) brown sugar (2 heaping tbsp of brown sugar)
  • 1/4 tsp (1.25 ml) garlic powder

Check it out yourself at

http://www.wikihow.com/Cook-Tuna-Steak

Blog food 055Blog food 056

 

Looks good doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

