Buttermilk Free Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Who out there doesn’t love a soft delicious cheddar biscuit? I know I do and if by the way they  all vanished is any indication I’m not the only one. Now the recipe I found for them I am sure amazing but sadly I lacked the buttermilk necessary to complete the biscuits and the parsley necessary for the glaze, so why not improvise.  Trust me it turns out you don’t need either. Before we get started I should warn you that though delicious they don’t keep well without being microwaved so if you’re planning to take them to a pig pickin’ or potluck you might want to try something else like I had to. However, if you are serving them for dinner you really couldn’t do much better.

To start off with you need to make the buttermilk substitute, which is surprisingly simple. Just take 1 cup milk, and 1 tbsp lemon juice or white vinegar. I used lemon juice.

Blog food 057 You simply put the lemon juice in the milk and wait. 1, 2, 3 minutes. My word how long does this take? It turns out it takes about 10 min in my case.  You want to wait until the milk is slightly thicker and a little curdled. Don’t worry it hasn’t gone bad that’s how it’s supposed to look.

Alrighty now that that’s done it’s on to the fun part.

We’re going to combine the dry ingredients.

Blog food 059

Now the buttermilk and melted butter

Blog food 061

Pour that beautiful liquid gold mixture into the dry ingredients. The mixture will be slightly lumpy.

now for my favorite part, the Cheese. I used 1 1/2 cup freshly grated extra sharp cheddar cheese.  I happened to have it, but I find that freshly grated cheese makes the whole recipe taste a little better. Okay maybe it’s all in my mind but it really tastes better to me.

Blog food 062

Gently fold in the cheese. Why gently? Why not

The mixture will look a something like this once it’s done.

Blog food 064

Place in spoon sized dollops on a greased cookie sheet.  I did small ones because I was making it for a large group, but if it’s just for family you could easily make them bigger.

Blog food 065

 

Let them bake in an oven at 450 degrees for 10-12 min.

Blog food 066

Blog food 071

The glaze is very easy and it’s the only step remaining.

Take 3 tbsp butter, add about a tbsp garlic, and dried chives to your liking. That it.

Blog food 060

Now spread it generously over your biscuits and your done. Go ahead try it. They taste amazing don’t they.

The original recipe is as follows. My alterations are in bold.

INGREDIENTS

2cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, optional (I used ½ tbsp. paprika as well)

1 cup buttermilk (1 cup 2% milk mixed with one tbsp. lemon juice let set at room temp for 10 min.)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (Extra sharp Cheddar)

 

  • FOR THE TOPPING
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley leaves (1 tbsp dried Chives)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

 

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, garlic powder, salt and cayenne pepper, if using.

In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk together buttermilk and butter. Pour mixture over dry ingredients and stir using a rubber spatula just until moist. Gently fold in cheese.

Using a 1/4-cup measuring cup, scoop the batter evenly onto the prepared baking sheet. Place into oven and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown.

For the topping, whisk together butter, parsley and garlic powder in a small bowl. Working one at a time, brush the tops of the biscuits with the butter mixture.

Serve Immediately they don’t hold well.

To see the original recipe just go to http://damndelicious.net/2014/02/03/red-lobster-cheddar-bay-biscuits/

 

P.S. sorry for the bad word, it’s I didn’t realize it when I made the recipe .

Blog food 068 Blog food 071 Blog food 072 They’re even better than they look.

Leave a Reply

