Parmesan Crusted Chicken

My husband now has three jobs so he has been working super hard to provide for our family. Sadly this means he worked over 87 hours last week. So I wanted to do something special to show him how grateful I am for all his hard work, and while it may not be true that the way to a mans heart is through his stomach for every man, mine sure appreciates it.  Therefore, I decided to try my take on an Italian dish. Parmesan crusted chicken, and mushroom risotto. I’ll put up the recipe for the risotto after this recipe.

Now I have done Parmesan crusted chicken before, but I have never done it this way. I normally do Rachel Ray’s Parmesan crusted chicken, but I didn’t have the ingredients for it this time.  (By the way it’s a terrific recipe ya’ll should try it. Still if you want to do it this way it is equally amazing. And oh so moist)  So let’s get to it, I know my husband deserves a good meal and i’m sure yours does too.

To start with you are going to need a few spices and some mayonnaise. I went with olive oil mayo, it’s a tiny bit better for you, and the following spices. Now I was a little reluctant to use Mayo on a baked chicken. It honestly sounded awful, but this is the most succulent delicious chicken I have ever made.

Blog food 004

As you can see I used Italian seasoning, chives, onion powder, black pepper and grinding sea salt. However you can season it however feels good to you. I used  about 1 tbsp of the Italian seasoning, 1 tsp of chives, a tbsp of onion powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 3-4 grinds of sea salt. I put all of this into 1 1/2 cup of mayo.

Blog food 005

then I mixed it up

Blog food 006

Now at this point a normal person would add their cup of Parmesan cheese, but for anyone who knows me you know I can be a bit goofy, So I forgot this step. But well make it better in a minute.

Now you want to take your thawed chicken and place it in a single layer at the bottom of a casserole dish.

Blog food 007

 

Aren’t those beautiful?  It’s almost a shame I have to alter them. Now as you can see they’re not really uniform in width, so were going to have to smash them a bit. This will help them to cook uniformly and finish at the same time.

Blog food 008

Now that I have had a good workout and pounded the meat so that it’s uniformly flat, it should look a little like this.

Blog food 009

Now I used a mashed potato masher, but you really can use whatever you have that would work, they make utensils for this, but you can use a can, the back of a spatula, or even a baseball bat, if you feel like you might want to be a kid again. Really you just want to make sure the chicken is as close to the same size as it can be.

At this point you want to take and spread you mayo spice mixture over the chicken.

Blog food 010

 

It’s like it’s wearing a mask, you can hardly see the chicken.

Now it’s time to fix our mistake… okay, maybe it was just my mistake. We are going to sprinkle on the half a cup or more of Parmesan cheese.

Blog food 012

Now use the back of a spoon to smooth in the cheese.

Blog food 014

See catastrophe averted.

Alright, now the recipe calls for bread crumbs, I however only have croutons. Same difference right? Okay maybe not, but it works divinely in this recipe, especially if you have seasoned croutons. Mine were tomato basil croutons.

Blog food 015

What you want to do is take that same spoon you used to spread the cheese, and used it to crush the croutons, but you could also use a food processor, it would probably be easier. Finally sprinkle the bread crumbs over the chicken.

Blog food 016

now place it in the oven at 425 Degrees for 20 minutes.

Remove and Enjoy.

Blog food 043

Now I have to say I have tried a lot of amazing chicken recipes in the past, but this one made one of the most moist and delicious chicken recipes I have ever made. It’s incredible.

Blog food 056

Now for the simple recipe.

Ingredients:

5 chicken breasts

1 1/2 cup Olive oil Mayo, (but you can use whatever mayo you have)

3-4 grinds of Sea Salt

1 tsp Black Pepper

1 tbsp Onion powder

1 tsp Chives

1 tbsp Italian Seasoning

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Bread Crumbs (I used crushed tomato basil croutons)

Directions:

Thaw chicken. Take the mayo and add in the salt, pepper, onion powder, chives and Italian seasoning. Mix well. Stir in the Parmesan cheese and set aside. Now place your chicken breasts in a heavy casserole dish. Now take a potato masher or a meat smasher and flatten the chicken until they are uniform in size. Take your mayo mixture and spread it evenly over the chicken. Finally top with your bread crumbs or crushed croutons. Now place in 425 degree oven for 20 minutes. Serve and Enjoy.

Blog food 044

Leave a Reply

